Recent News‎ > ‎

Bears win Beaver Division Championship against Leafs in Thriller!

posted Jun 18, 2012, 9:56 AM by Web Master   [ updated Jun 18, 2012, 10:23 AM ]

Back Row (L-R) Riley Guay, Adam Callahan, Coach Hank Gagnon, James Wilson, Jonathan Melanson
Front Row(L-R) Nate Silva, Robert Ascevedo, Ryan Hardy,, Joe Gagnon, Tyler North. 
(Missing from photo Grace Harvey and Caroline Harvey)

    Season MVP Joe Gagnon scored the go ahead goal that gave the BEARS a 4-3 lead with less than two minutes to go in a thrilling winner take-all championship game against the MAPLE LEAFS. The BEARS would later score an empty net goal with time running out on the Maple Leafs to secure the Championship. In a hard fought battle where the MAPLE LEAFS scored with 4:40 to go tie up the game set the scene for an ending that kept all who were watching the game at the Greater Lowell Dekhockey Center in Chelmsford glued to their seats.

    Joe Gagnon and James Wilson lead the Bears with Gagnon pocketing 4 goals and 1 assist, while Wilson tallying 1 Goal and 3 Assist. The Backbone of the BEARS Goalie Ryan Hardy was solid between the pipes. Tyler North was stellar on Defense as he and his fellow defensemen Riley Guay and Robert Ascevedo put up what appeared to be steel curtain on defense for the Champion BEARS.  Nathan Silva, Jonathan Melanson and Adam Callahan all had a spectacular game on offense for the BEARS combining with Gagnon and Wilson on a lot of plays that lead to several scoring chances. 

     The MAPLE LEAFS Goalie Sean Thomas had the game of his life as the BEARS peppered him with shots all game and Thomas came up BIG on most of them. Hans Freidrichs was strong on defense for the MAPLE LEAFS giving the BEARS all they could handle, and he also chipped in on offense as well scoring a goal.  Mike Dibacco and Lukas Pippos each scored a goal and had strong games for the MAPLE LEAFS .